Tags

, , , ,

So I had two burgers left over from the Chipotle Black Bean Burger Experiment. I also had left over corn.

Now the burgers, in my eyes, don’t need anything to spruce them up. I had mine on a whole wheat roll this evening with no lettuce, cheese, condiments. Nada. And that naked burger was mighty tasty. Hubz, on the other hand, dumped a bowl of chili on his. But that still left, at least in my mind, room for a side item, and I had left over corn. I hope you can see where this is going…

Enter Mema’s Corn Fritters from AllRecipes.com. Sounds tasty BUT I had no fresh parmesan cheese OR onions. So, as always when in a dire need to solve problems that occur in my culinary sanctuary, I improvise.

The original recipe served 6. It is just hubby and I, so I modified the ingredients to serve 3. Okay, I’ll admit, I had 1 1/2 servings of these little tasty morsels, but they were THAT good. I also adjusted the nutritional info to dictate that the recipe serves 2.

Also, the original called for using 2 tbsp butter + 1 tbsp olive oil to “fry” the little fritters in. I’m sure this would have been mighty tasty, but I used a well seasoned cast iron skillet (no need for oils) and browned them on each side until they had a nice GBD (golden, brown, and delicious) color and the look of moisture (where the edges are) had left the kitchen along with Elvis.

Now onto the show:

Halfafoo’s Corn Fritters for 2 – Serving Size 127.5g

  • 2 tbps + 1 1/2 tsp Bisquick
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp onion powder
  • ground black pepper to taste
  • 1/3 c shredded cheddar jack cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1 c whole kernel corn, rinsed and drained
  1. Whisk baking mix with salt, black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and cheese in a small bowl.
  2. Beat egg in a separate bowl and stir in corn.
  3. Lightly stir biscuit mix-cheese mixture into corn mixture just until moistened; do not overmix.
  4. Drop batter into hot skillet (med-high) with a tablespoon and flatten fritters slightly with spoon.
  5. Cook fritters until browned on both sides, about 3 minutes per side.
  6. Serve!

The  nutritional facts are as follows. As you can see the fats/cholesterol are a bit high, but that has to do with the egg.

Per serving

  • Calories 207
  • Calories from Fat 86
  • % Daily Value*Total Fat 9.5g – 15%
  • %Saturated Fat 4.5g – 23%
  • Trans Fat 0.0g
  • Cholesterol 99mg – 33%
  • Sodium 405mg – 17%
  • Total Carbohydrates 21.6g – 8%
  • Dietary Fiber 2.3g – 9%
  • Sugars 3.8g
  • Protein 9.6g